Museum van Loon
The museum is named after the Van Loon family, the last residents of the house and founders of the museum. It was designed in 1672 by architect Adriaen Dortsman. The first owner was painter Ferdinand Bol, a student of Rembrandt. The canal house came into possession of the noble Van Loon family in 1884, when the Honourable Hendrik van Loon purchased it for his son Willem as a wedding present. The family’s rich history can be gleaned from the large collection of portraits in the museum, the oldest dating back to the 16th century. Museum Van Loon is the only museum in the Netherlands where the original unity of canal house with an 18th-century interior, original furniture, garden and coach house can be viewed in its entirety.